

Executive Advisory Board

Agenda

Thursday, 22 October 2020 2.15 pm

Virtual Zoom meeting

To: Members of the Executive Advisory Board

- To: Members of the LGA Executive
- cc: Named officers for briefing purposes

www.local.gov.uk



LGA Executive

22 October 2020

There will be a meeting of the LGA Executive at: 2.15 pm on Thursday, 22 October 2020 via Zoom link.

Apologies

<u>Please notify your political group office (see contact telephone numbers below) if you are unable to attend this meeting</u>, so that a substitute can be arranged and catering numbers adjusted, if necessary.

Conservative:	Group Office:	020 7664 3223	email:	lgaconservatives@local.gov.uk
Labour:	Group Office:	020 7664 3263	email:	Martha.Lauchlan@local.gov.uk
Independent:	Group Office:	020 7664 3224	email:	independent.grouplga@local.gov.uk
Liberal Democrat:	Group Office:	020 7664 3235	email:	libdem@local.gov.uk

LGA Contact

Amy Haldane Amy.Haldane@local.gov.uk /

Carers' Allowance

As part of the LGA Members' Allowances Scheme a Carer's Allowance of £9.00 per hour or £10.55 if receiving London living wage is available to cover the cost of dependents (i.e. children, elderly people or people with disabilities) incurred as a result of attending this meeting.

Social Media

The LGA is committed to using social media in a co-ordinated and sensible way, as part of a strategic approach to communications, to help enhance the reputation of local government, improvement engagement with different elements of the community and drive efficiency. Please feel free to use social media during this meeting. However, you are requested not to use social media during any confidential items.

The twitter hashtag for this meeting is #lgaexec.



Executive Advisory Board – Membership 2020/21

Councillor and Role	Authority
Conservative 9	
Cllr James Jamieson (Chairman)	Central Bedfordshire Council
Cllr Izzi Seccombe OBE (Vice	Warwickshire County Council
Chairman)	
Cllr John Fuller OBE (Deputy	South Norfolk District Council
Chairman)	
Cllr Robert Alden (Deputy	Birmingham City Council
Chairman)	
Cllr Teresa O'Neill OBE (Deputy	Bexley Council
Chairman)	
Cllr Peter Fleming OBE (Board	Sevenoaks District Council
Chair)	
Cllr Ian Hudspeth (Board Chair)	Oxfordshire County Council
Cllr David Renard (Board Chair)	Swindon Borough Council
Cllr Kevin Bentley (Board Chair)	Essex County Council
Labour	
9	
Cllr Nick Forbes CBE (Senior	Newcastle upon Tyne City Council
Vice-Chair)	Newcastle upon Tyne City Council
Cllr Michael Payne (Deputy	Gedling Borough Council
Chair)	
Cllr Anntoinette Bramble (Deputy	Hackney London Borough Council
Chair)	, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,
Cllr Tudor Evans OBE (Deputy	Plymouth City Council
Chair)	
Cllr Georgia Gould (Deputy	Camden Council
Chair)	
Sir Richard Leese CBE (Board	Manchester City Council and City Regions
Chair)	Board
Cllr Richard Watts (Board Chair)	Islington Council
Cllr Judith Blake CBE (Board	Leeds City Council
Chair)	Enfield Council
Cllr Nesil Caliskan (Board Chair)	Enfield Council
Liberal Democrat	
5	
Cllr Howard Sykes MBE (Vice-	Oldham Metropolitan Borough Council
Chair)	
Cllr Ruth Dombey OBE (Deputy	Sutton London Borough Council
Chair)	Ť
Cllr Gerald Vernon-Jackson CBE	Portsmouth City Council
(Board Chair)	
Cllr Anita Lower (Balancing	Newcastle upon Tyne City Council
Member)	
Cllr Bridget Smith (Balancing	South Cambridgeshire District Council



Member)		
Independent 4		
Cllr Marianne Overton MBE (Vice-Chair)	Lincolnshire County Council	
Cllr Clive Woodbridge (Deputy Chair)	Epsom and Ewell Borough Council	
Cllr Paul Woodhead (Balancing Member)	Cannock Chase District Council	
Cllr Rosemarie Harris (Balancing Member)	Powys County Council	
Regional Representatives 9		
Cllr Robert Stewart	LAB	Swansea City and County Council
Cllr Marc Bayliss	CON	Worcester City Council
Cllr Simon Henig CBE	LAB	Association of North East Councils
Cllr John Hart	CON	South West Councils
Cllr Peter John OBE	LAB	Southwark Council
Cllr Shabir Pandor	LAB	Kirklees Metropolitan Council
Cllr Roy Perry	CON	South East England Councils (SEEC)
Cllr Nicholas Rushton	CON	East Midlands Councils
Cllr Linda Haysey	CON	East Herts Council
Named Substitutes		
Cllr Ralph Bagge	CON	South Bucks District Council

Non-voting Members of LGA Executive

Councillor		Representing
Sir Stephen Houghton CBE	LAB	SIGOMA
Alderman Sir David Wootton	INDE	Local Partnerships
Cllr David Williams	CON	County Councils Network (CCN)



Agenda

Executive Advisory Board

Thursday 22 October 2020

2.15 pm

	Item	Page
1.	Declarations of Interest	
2.	Redmond Review	1 - 10
3.	The LGA's Current 'Hot Topics'	11 - 12
4.	LGA Lobbying Strategy	13 - 24
5.	Future Funding / Finance Issues	25 - 32
6.	Spending Review Submission and Response to Tranche 2 Business Rates Review	33 - 50

7. Note of last Executive Advisory Board meeting

Date of Next Meeting: Thursday, 3 December 2020, 2.15 pm